Tuesday, May 4, 2010


The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) has announced the winners for the 2010 Christian Book Awards. Presented annually to the finest in Christian publishing since 1978, the Christian Book Awards honors titles in six categories – Bibles, Bible Reference & Study, Christian Life, Fiction, Children & Youth, and Inspiration & Gift.

The winners in each category were announced at the ECPA Awards banquet held Monday, May 3, during ECPA’s annual Executive Leadership Summit in Nashville, TN. One title, The Hole in Our Gospel by Richard Stearns, received the top honor by being named the 2010 Christian Book of the Year.

The Christian Book Awards selects five finalists in each category based on both editorial excellence and category-specific criteria. This year, 226 entries (published in the last year) were submitted by 33 ECPA member publishers for review and scoring by a total of 72 judges.

The 2010 Christian Book Award winners are:

2010 Christian Book of the Year

The Hole in Our Gospel, Richard Stearns, Thomas Nelson, 9780785229186


Glo, Immersion Digital, Zondervan, 9780981990200

Bible Reference & Study

The New Moody Atlas of the Bible, Barry J. Beitzel, Moody Publishers, 9780802404411

Christian Life

The Hole in Our Gospel, Richard Stearns, Thomas Nelson, 9780785229186


Watch Over Me, Christa Parrish, Bethany House/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780764205545

Children & Youth

B4UD8- Before You Date, Hayley and Michael DiMarco, Revell/ Baker Publishing Group, 9780800733087

Inspiration & Gift

Grace Notes, Philip Yancey, Zondervan, 9780310287728

The Christian Book Awards, established in 1978 as the Gold Medallion Book Awards by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association, recognize the absolute highest quality in Christian books. Based on excellence in content, literary quality, design and impact, the Christian Book Awards are the oldest and among the most prestigious in the religious publishing industry. For more information, go to www.ecpa.org.

No comments: