Monday, June 18, 2012


The 24th annual Canadian Christian Writing awards presents the top prizes for best writing in 2011 
As an excerpt was being read from her book The Third Grace, Deb Elkink was both astonished and elated at being selected as the Grace Irwin Award winner at the 24th annual Canadian Christian Writing Awards gala. 
This year, five of the 53 books entered were shortlisted for the Grace Irwin Award: Deb Elkink, The Third Grace; Erin E. M. Hatton,Otherworld; Greg Paul, Close Enough to Hear God Breathe; Jayne E. Self, Murder in Hum Harbour; and Ann Voskamp,One Thousand Gifts. The Leslie K Tarr Award for Lifetime Achievement was presented to to Jean Vanier, author of nearly 30 books, including the classic Becoming Human, and the founder of L'Arche communities worldwide. The annual writing awards, sponsored by The Word Guild, celebrate the best in Canadian writing in periodicals, anthologies, and books by authors who write from a Christian worldview.  Winners in 35 categories were announced. 


J.E. Self said...

Thank you, Sally, for your continued support and encouragement of Canadian Christians who write.

Deb said...

Sally, it was a delight to see your coverage of the Awards Gala, and I want to thank you especially for identifying my novel, THE THIRD GRACE, as winner of the Grace Irwin Award. What an honour it is to, in some way, represent Canadian writers who are Christian.