Sunday, November 2, 2008


ECPA Announces Winners of Second AnnualECPA/Dickinson Press Book Cover Award

The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) announces the winners of its annual ECPA/Dickinson Press Book Cover Award during its 2008 Publishing University in Chicago, IL. This awards competition, sponsored by ECPA and Dickinson Press, is open to all ECPA member publishers and recognizes excellence in book cover design. Thirteen publishers submitted 63 entries within four categories.

The 2008 ECPA/Dickinson Press Book Cover Award Winners in each of the award categories are:

The Literary Study Bible
Crossway Books & Bibles, Leland Ryken and Philip Graham Ryken; designed by Josh Dennis, 9781581348088

BEST COVER: Small-Sized Publisher (from publishers with 1-100 titles annually)
Zora and Nicky
David C. Cook, Claudia Mair Burney; designed by Jason Gabbert, The DesignWorks Group, 9780781445504

BEST COVER: Mid-Sized Publisher (from publishers with 101-250 titles annually)
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness
WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group, Andrew Peterson; designed by Mark D. Ford, Sr. Art Director and illustrated by Justin Gerard, Portland Studios, 9781400073849

BEST COVER: Large Publisher (from publishers with 251+ titles published annually)
Thomas Nelson, Inc., Ted Dekker; designed by Tim Green, The DesignWorks Group and Mark Ross, Art Director, 9781595540072

In 2006, a study was commissioned by Dickinson Press and conducted by the RISC to help Christian publishers develop and design more on-target products. Based on the RISC research, ECPA and Dickinson Press developed the ECPA/Dickinson Press Book Cover Award which is presented annually and recognizes the industry's finest book cover design integrity.

The ECPA/Dickinson Press Book Cover Award encourages, identifies and celebrates "best in class" design for Christian publishing's book covers. For more information about the program, visit

No comments: